Daily Archives: July 31, 2015

It’s a monkey’s life… oohh schoo-bi-dooh

Not only are there lots of yoga places in Ubud, tons of organic food restaurants, art galleries and temples, but also an old sacred forest in the middle of the city centre also known as the Monkey Forest. With nearly 700 monkeys living and roaming freely in the forest, it was one of the places that were on my bucket list whilst staying in Ubud. So one afternoon – in between yoga sessions – I walked down the busy Monkey Forest Road until I reached the southern tip where the forest starts.

Having emptied the side bags of my rucksack, taken off my sunglasses and read the rules (“Don’t look the monkeys in the eyes, they consider it to be aggressive!” and “Stay calm if a monkey jumps on you. Don’t scream!”), I made my way into the paved and oh so green jungle with its massive old trees.

The sign should probably read

The sign should probably read “Monkeys Grabbing”!

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Asia