Daily Archives: July 27, 2015

Arriving in Ubud and snippets of Balinese culture

After my night in Mataram, Lombok I decided to take the slow ferry to its neighbouring island Bali. I had the time, so might as well save money and get to see the true Indonesian experience. Whilst queuing to get on the boat, I bought two small parcels of rice with some dried chicken, a slice of cucumber and spices from one of the many vendors who come aboard before the ferry leaves. Wedged in between locals and backpackers alike, soon the ferry left Lombok’s harbour Lembar and made its way west to Bali.

Thankfully the weather was fine and my slow ferry experience was a lot nicer than the more expensive fast boat on the way in! I’d recommend the slow ferry to anyone who has got the time! Four hours later we arrived in Padang Bai, Bali, where all tourists were horded away to vans and grouped by their destination. Soon enough our Ubud group made our way up into the hills, arriving there just when the sun started to settle.

I was shattered, so on the way to my guesthouse I stopped at Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Asia