Daily Archives: July 18, 2015

Out of the world diving with Manta Rays in Komodo

As a newly certified open water diver, I couldn’t miss the opportunity to go diving in Komodo during our stay in Labuanbajo. Often recommended as one of the best dive sites in the world, it was the chance of spotting a manta ray that really made me want to go. All operators offer exactly the same prices (1,000,000  IDR for two dives, 1,200,000 IDR for three), so I just walked into a couple, asked my questions and went with Komodo Dive Centre, one of the smaller operators in Labuanbajo, as I felt they gave me all the right answers. Having done only four dives and none since my open water course, I was slightly nervous of the currents which Komodo is known for. Moritz, the manager, reassured me that I would get my own dive master in order to enjoy one-on-one diving. And I didn’t regret my choice: I had an absolutely fantastic day out on the boat, with lots of nice people, plenty of food (fresh fruit, biscuits and sandwiches) and most importantly of course three unforgettable and very different dives.

We met at 7.15 am Continue reading

3 Comments

Filed under Asia